Technology Worth Using in Class for Curriculum   Leave a comment

Hey, it’s Saturday morning and what am I doing working on this blog? Call me crazy.

There is a this place on the web, so rich in ideas and thoughts for the K-12 students … a fertile oasis in the dusty desert: Ted.

Why? Ted is the leading ideas in thought …to my knowledge, it’s the only repository of these gems. It’s FREE and it’s easily accessible.

As a teacher, my big challenge is fitting it into class. Lately I’ve been doing it during it homeroom, but that is only one class. I found Ted from another teacher, F. Lajvardi; he is an amazing guy …. talk about phenomenal teacher. He has project based learning in action happening.

Using Ted always stirs up some interesting questions … they are better when the content we are studying segways in the Ted topic we watch. The last one I used was Jane Goodall where she discusses her work. There are so many that I have a hard time keep track of ones I can use … I also recently showed E. O. Wilson, a biologist exploring the world of ants and other tiny creatures … about the way all creatures great and small are interdependent….talk about driving home those core concepts of variables, ecosystems, habitats and niches.

Guess you can decipher by now that I’m a biology teacher.

That’s it for today, just want to put my two cents in to promote Ted…. a five star lesson tool … the brilliant and aspiring minds of our planet – to lead the next generation of leaders.

Cheers!

Posted January 5, 2008 by Jack in biology, Curriculum, Ted, tools

Leave a Reply

